Welcoming Our New Advisory Board Members

Thursday, February 29, 2024

The Nau Civil War Center is excited to welcome five new members to our Advisory Board: Amy Murrell Taylor, Lorien Foote, Hannah Rosen, Jonathan S. Jones, and Zachery A. Fry.

Amy Murrell Taylor is T. Marshall Hahn Jr. Professor of History at the University of Kentucky. She is the author of Embattled Freedom: Journeys through the Civil War’s Slave Refugee Camps, which won our John L. Nau III Book Prize in American Civil War Era History in 2019.

Lorien Foote is Patricia & Bookman Peters Professor of History at Texas A&M University and the author of Rites of Retaliation: Civilization, Soldiers, and Campaigns in the American Civil War.

Hannah Rosen is an associate professor of history and American studies at the College of William & Mary. She is the author of Terror in the Heart of Freedom: Citizenship, Sexual Violence, and the Meaning of Race in the Postemancipation South.

Jonathan S. Jones is an assistant professor of history at James Madison University. His first book, Opium Slavery: Civil War Veterans and Opiate Addiction, is under contract with UNC Press.

Zachery A. Fry is an educator and historian, and he is the author of A Republic in the Ranks: Loyalty and Dissent in the Army of the Potomac

We would like to thank our out-going board members, Ari Kelman, Thavolia Glymph, Aaron Sheehan-Dean, Cynthia Nicoletti, and KT Shively, for their years of service and support!