Nau Book Prize

Announcing the 2021 John Nau Book Prize in American Civil War Era History

The John L. Nau III Center for Civil War History at the University of Virginia invites nominations for the 2021 John Nau Book Prize in American Civil War Era History. Titles published in 2020 will be eligible. The $25,000 prize focuses primarily on scholarship devoted to the war itself but is also open to works on the background and consequences of the conflict. Collections of essays or primary documents, works of fiction, and poetry should not be submitted.

Publishers should submit copies of nominated books directly to members of the judging committee by January 30, 2021. The winner will be announced by July 1, 2021, and the award presented at an event sponsored by the Center. For mailing addresses and more information, please contact Caroline E. Janney at

Judging Committee

Caroline E. Janney (ex-officio)

Stephen D. Engle (chair)

Barbara Gannon

Lucas Morel

Past Recipients of the Nau Book Prize

2020: Joseph P. Reidy, Illusions of Emancipation: The Pursuit of Freedom and Equality in the Twilight of Slavery (University of North Carolina Press, 2019)

2019: Amy M. Taylor, Embattled Freedom: Journeys through the Civil War’s Slave Refugee Camps (University of North Carolina, 2018)

2018: Andrew E. Masich, Civil War in the Southwest Borderlands, 1861-1867 (Oklahoma University Press, 2017)

2017: Daniel W. Crofts, Lincoln and the Politics of Slavery: The Other Thirteenth Amendment and the Struggle to Save the Union (University of North Carolina Press, 2016)

2016: J. Matthew Gallman, Defining Duty in the Civil War: Personal Choice, Popular Culture, and the Union Home Front (University of North Carolina Press, 2015)